He will provide, oh yes he will.

As some of you probably know, my financial situation hasn’t exactly been picture perfect lately. As is with most college students, I was staring in the face of medical debt while also trying to fund raise for a mission trip. Needless to say, the last 3 months have been incredibly stressful.

After injuring my neck this past fall, the bills coming to my mailbox showed a whole lot of three digit numbers which eventually came to a total of a four digit number. As a full time college student with just a part time job, I had no idea how I was going to pay it off. I spent the last few months trying to put away enough money to pay off my debt until about two weeks ago when I received notice that my account was about to go into collection. For those of you who have never encountered medical debt, this is a BAD thing. Upon receipt of that letter, I immediately got on the phone with a finance representative from the hospital. After explaining my situation, the woman suggested that I go down to the hospital and apply for financial aid (who knew you could do that at a hospital?!)

I went down a week after that phone call. As I was sitting with a rep going over some recent pay stubs and looking at the bills, the woman informed me that I would most likely qualify for full coverage of my bill. I was completely astounded. Did I hear her correctly? It was like the weight of a thousand bricks was lifted off of my shoulders. I was hoping for maybe just like 25% off. It seemed so unreal. One financial battle down, one more to go.

As I have mentioned hundreds of times in the last few months, I am going on a mission trip this spring break. You are also probably aware that mission trips do not come for free. Although the trip I am going on is one of the cheaper trips, I was still tasked to raise $650 which isn’t easy by any means. As of today, 75% of my total trip cost ($488) is due. As of two weeks ago, I had only raised a measly $40. I was panicking. I had $428 to go and just 14 days to do it. I started reaching out rather aggressively on social media just praying that people would respond well. As of last night at approximately 8:30pm, I was FULLY FUNDRAISED. I was sitting in chapel when I got the e-mail and I was so overwhelmed that I just started crying.

It is completely incomprehensible to me that my God provides for me in such huge and obvious ways. He quite literally took my two biggest burdens right off of my shoulders. The part that is consistently the most difficult for me to process is the fact that I am such a sinner, and yet every single day I am chosen by Him. Woah. I feel so unworthy of this glorious love that has been showered on me in the last few weeks and I am blown away by the generosity of my peers, friends, and family. I can’t believe I have ever had the audacity to question the faithfulness of my Heavenly Father. Today, I am filled with the utmost joy and love and I sure hope you are too.

About kscoughlin2013

I'm a full time college student studying English Literature and Secondary Education, a part time dreamer, and occasionally I write a decent poem or take an okay picture.
This entry was posted in College Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

