Spring Break 2015: Guyan Valley, West Virginia

As I breathe in the fresh, mountain air I feel myself becoming intoxicated,

Drunk off of the fumes of pristine nature, and long days full of hard work,

I decide to swap the palm trees for pine trees,

I swap the predictable sunshine for weather that is often confused,

Every now and then someone will stop to ask me, “Why?”

To that I can only give one, simple reply,

I go to serve those who are unseen, who are pushed aside,

I go to help rebuild a community just holding on by the stitches,

I go to learn more about myself and the teammates I work alongside,

I go because my Creator calls me to care for His people,

But those are really just the reasons right along the surface,

Why do I really go?

I go because that community rebuilds me,

I go because they are a people who are stronger than you could ever believe,

I go because they have a rich culture, deep roots, and a strong pride,

I go because despite it all, Appalachia has stolen my heart and run with it.

Help me get to the place that has captured my heart, mind, and serving hands. This poem was just a small expression of the deep love I hold for this community. I am so excited to go back and serve yet again, but the cost is steep for a college student such as myself. If you feel so lead to support me, I could always use prayer for my team and I. If you feel as if you are called to donate to my expenses, then I would encourage you to check out my fundraising page. Thank you for your time and consideration.

http://www.gofundme.com/gettoappalachia

About kscoughlin2013

I'm a full time college student studying English Literature and Secondary Education, a part time dreamer, and occasionally I write a decent poem or take an okay picture.
This entry was posted in College Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

