Sometimes, I write a poem.

As I stare at this blank page, my mind is far from still,

I cannot articulate the things that I am thinking… the things that I feel,

I don’t know what to do with this information,

How do I discern what is wrong and what is right?

Sometimes the line between just friends and so much more,

Is a line drawn in the sand on a windy beach.

I thought that I was moving forward,

I have been being shaped and made new,

Then this information comes along like an atomic bomb,

It hits me hard in my chest, my heartbeat is loud in my ears.

Why does this bother me so much? Shouldn’t this just be another drop in the ocean?

There is only one place for me to turn, on my knees I cry out to Him.

I lean into his abundant presence for comfort and understanding,

I know that in time he will make all things clear,

Gifted with such a vivid imagination, I can only imagine the end of our journey,

I am so wrapped up in the future that I can’t rest in the now,

He is probably laughing at me because I am off base as usual,

He has more planned for me than I could EVER imagine.

So why can’t I keep moving forward?

I am stopped in the middle of a busy street,

Looking for answers to a question I cannot find.

About kscoughlin2013

I'm a full time college student studying English Literature and Secondary Education, a part time dreamer, and occasionally I write a decent poem or take an okay picture.
This entry was posted in College Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

