Time is of the essence

It’s been a really long time since I have found the time to sit down and write. I got my motivation to do so by the start of a new semester! I can’t believe I am already half way done with my freshman year… woah hit the brakes! So much has changed in the last 5 months alone. When they say college changes people, they really weren’t kidding. In the last 5 months I took my first midterms, got lost in Chicago, made a whole slew of friends, took my first finals, had my first Christmas break back home, got a new job, found a new roommate, and even rearranged the furniture somewhere in between. Although I have experienced many ups and downs in my faith, education, and relationships, I have learned a whole lot. Chicago is my classroom, how could I not take advantage of that? The two most exciting pieces of news pertain to my new job and my new roommate. I was recently hired as a desk attendant in Sohlberg Hall. Desk attending is a coveted position usually awarded to the upperclassmen but somehow I managed to score it as a freshman. Insane, and exciting. Now that I can be sure I’ll be earning money this semester, I have a bigger budget to explore all that is Chicago. I also got a new roommate. My roommate last semester was an exchange student from Sweden and she sadly had to return home. I miss Martina quite a bit but I am so excited for this new chapter. My new roommate happens to be one of my best friends, Kathleen! I am so happy that it worked out, I think we will be having a wonderful semester together. Being reunited with all of my friends has left me feeling renewed and ready to start the new semester, although the feeling of homesickness will never quite fade completely. I learned that saying goodbye never seems to get any easier, especially after having such a lovely break. I also learned that saying goodbye is healthy and I am grateful to be having this experience to grow as an individual. On that note, I am headed off to lunch before Swedish. 

Hej Då,

Kristen

About kscoughlin2013

I'm a full time college student studying English Literature and Secondary Education, a part time dreamer, and occasionally I write a decent poem or take an okay picture.
This entry was posted in College Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

