ASP: Amazing Service Potential

Hello there!

So it has been a little while since I have had much time to sit down and write on this blog. Life gets crazy and college doesn’t slow down for anyone! In the midst of all of the craziness surrounding the holidays and schoolwork, I have found a really awesome service opportunity! Through the Global Partnerships office at my school, I will be headed to the Guyan Valley in West Virginia this spring break! Instead of heading down to some tropical paradise, I will be in the Appalachian Mountains serving a people who need my help the most. The people of this region live in twice as much poverty as the rest of our country. They suffer from extremely high unemployment rates and struggle to put shoes on their children’s feet. With the list of things they need being so long, fixing there homes is of very low priority. Because of this their houses are dilapidated often with sagging walls, roofs, and floor. My mission will be to help restore their homes to a safe condition while building up relationships with these people! I have felt extremely called to this trip and I am very excited about it! Our partnership will be made through ASP (Appalachia Service Project). I encourage you to learn more about them by clicking on their link which I will provide below. There are two ways you can support me in my mission: 

1. PRAY! Pray for things such as safe travels, financial matters, good relationships, safety on the work site, and good dynamics on our team as a whole! Prayer is always a huge and necessary support and I appreciate it!

2. DONATE! There is no point in beating around the bush, mission trips cost money. I need to raise $550 by January 8th in order to send myself on this trip. I have already placed $100 toward my own cause and I will be working to raise money to support myself, however I still need your help! If this mission is interesting to you, or you simply love me, donations are greatly appreciated! I will post the link to my online donation page below. If you prefer to donate by check and you want information on that, please call, text, e-mail, or Facebook message me and I will give you that info!

Your help in any form is much appreciated. I really hope you will consider helping me out as this trip will certainly be life changing for me!

–Kristen ❤

 

ASP Website: http://www.asphome.org/

Fundraising Page: http://projecttravel.com/kscoughlin22

Global Partnerships Website: http://www.npumin.com/#/globalpartnerships/

 

Image

 

About kscoughlin2013

I'm a full time college student studying English Literature and Secondary Education, a part time dreamer, and occasionally I write a decent poem or take an okay picture.
This entry was posted in College Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

