If it’s 90 degrees and humid, is ultimate frisbee still ultimate?

As the title suggests, it was a sweltering 90 humid degrees here in Chicago today. On the bright side one of my two classes was cancelled! Choir was difficult today because I think I am coming down with something. My throat has been extremely sore and I have just been absolutely exhausted. Hopefully a little Emergen-C and extra rest will kick this thing! Today was my very first Ultimate Frisbee practice with Allihopa. It was absolutely amazing! The girls on the team are really nice and they are really patient when teaching us all. The backhand throw was obviously really easy. It’s the basic throw that you learn as a little kid. Starting off with that was a great confidence builder. After that we moved onto the flick aka the forehand throw. This throw is particularly tricky because of the way you need to hold the frisbee and release it. We were warned that this throw takes a long time to master and takes a lot of practice. At least they started us off early with it! That pretty much concluded practice due to night classes and the heat but it was still really fun. I cannot wait for my next practice on Thursday when we should be getting more into game rules. Our first tournament will be sometime in October and I am practically counting down the days. Tomorrow night will be the first night that I am actually babysitting for the family in Lincoln Square. It will be just me, Cali, and their dog Jack from 5:30-8:30 and I am really excited as well as a little nervous. There are plenty of things that could go wrong and there is always the potential that I won’t be entertaining enough for the child. Hopefully all goes well though! Other than that today was a very normal Monday and a relatively good start to my week!

–Kristen

About kscoughlin2013

I'm a full time college student studying English Literature and Secondary Education, a part time dreamer, and occasionally I write a decent poem or take an okay picture.
This entry was posted in College Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

